DA RU

Now then. Extremely hello every baldy. My name is Jimmy Savlon, also known as POCARIT CLOP. Gweetings. Respectcetera. I’m going to speak a little bit, not a lot, every second counts, about skate boar DING!!!!!! Namely, in Nippon. First of all I want you to bring to mind your perception of ‘skateboarding’. Secondly I want you to tell that perception to go and burn in Heaven for evermore because whatever it is, I GWARantee, it’s right off the mark. Is skateboarding cool? Is it Punk Rock? Is it Hip Hop? Is it crap? No, it’s none of these and none of anything else. Skateboards have been knocking about since long before any of the above. Yes, even before feecese. A skateboard is just a skateboard and whatever you do with it is ENTIRELY up to you. Play Cricket with it. Dig an ‘ole with one. Use one as a skateboard. There are no rules. Except the unwritten ones. But they aren’t in writing and never will be. HERE IN JIPPON we give far east of a shit about what one does with a skateboard. Of course the unwritten rules filter through somewhat from the western isles but they can be quite easily shat upon.

In OSAKA there is a man. A Gentleman of the highest order named.. CHOPPER. He was ‘discovered’ by a very good friend of mine…

Look, Chopper is the same age as me, grew up through the same era of skateboarding and manages to blow the fucking roof off the establishment. And always has as far as I know. Now of course a man like that naturally grows popular with others who are genius enough to see the advantages and more so, the possibilities. His ‘crew’ define the word UNIQUE.

9 years ago I travelled on a choo choo to Osaka to hang out with my friend Chopper for the weekend. He took me straight to Osaka Castle, Spotaka skate shop, a few other places, then fat okonomiyaki and major beer ingestion all the while giggling as he warned me that he was about to introduce me to a psychopath. A man with crazy eyeballs. I’d actually started to get worried. The man I finally met turned out to be a saint. And a psychopath.

His name is DAL, pronounced DARU. THIS is skateboarding.

See yer!



Leave a Reply

